Castlethorpe W. I. Golden Jubilee in 1982
& 70th. Year Celebration

Back Row: Mrs. Sills, unknown, Mavis Goodman, Carol Ray, Margaret Wilson, Joyce Markham, Peg Crabbe, Sandy Payne, Mrs. Mc Millan, Joy Frost, Mrs. Brown, Mary Barnes, Mrs. Murial Hines, Sylvia Delaney, Mrs. Swain.

Seated: Mrs. Ratledge, Nell Lane
Members of Castlethorpe WI celebrated their Golden Jubilee on Saturday afternoon with a tea party in the village hall.
A specially iced cake commerated the fifty years the branch has been going strong and the only two surviving founder members were guests of honour.
Mrs. Beccy Whiting, who is in her eighties, was the first president and Mrs. Emmie Stringer was a committee member.
The Jubilee cake was cut by this year's president Mrs. Peg Crabbe and the branch's ceremonial tablecloth was on display.
The cloth is embroidered with the signatures of members and bears the Bucks WI crest.
In our picture Castlethorpe WI president Mrs. Peg Crabbe cuts the cake.
Taken from an unknown news paper cutting.

70th Anniversary Celebration
W.I. 70th anniversary cake
Nora Chapman cutting the anniversary cake
Nora Chapman

 Return to W.I. Page